Posted on

Kabuki SuperLight…finished.

Done.  Ready for the test ride later.

Image

The chain was shifting past the biggest rear cog and onto the hub so I turned the lower limit screw on the rear derailleur in as far it could go and it appears to have solved the problem.

2013-07-26 10.43.43

Got the stem extender yesterday, it’s the black stem part below.  The frame is just a few inches small for me so I think this will make things more comfy.  Easy install, just needed a long “L” allen wrench and a locking adjustable head wrench to turn the quill stem long screw.  Then just inserted the stem shifter onto the extender and the old stem into the top part of the extender.  Also, there was enough brake cable/housing so that I didn’t need to install new longer ones.  May eventually add some cushioned tape on top of the old one if I feel I need more damping but I think the risen stem height will diffuse a lot of hand soreness.

Image

Speaking of brakes, I found that an Irwin quick grip from home depot served just as well as a more expensive park third hand tool for holding the brakes against the rim as I adjusted the them.

Image

Side note, if you can get your hands on this old Haynes bicycle book, it’s useful for working on vintage bikes.

Image

No allen bolt mounts on the top or down tubes so I had to zip tie a frame pump to the top tube.  The bike came with this crazy cannondale velcro water bottle holder.

Image

Leave a comment